What is the animal called martin?

Martens have bushy tails and large paws with partially retractile claws. The fur varies from yellowish to dark brown, depending on the species, and is valued by trappers for the fur trade. They inhabit coniferous and northern deciduous forests across the Northern Hemisphere.