What's the birthstone for?

January - Garnet. February - Amethyst. March - Aquamarine. April - Diamond. May - Emerald. June - Pearl or Alexandrite. July - Ruby. August - Peridot. September - Sapphire. October - Tourmaline or Opal. November - Topaz or Citrine. December - Tanzanite, Zircon or Turquoise