What's the difference between a hyena and a jackal?

Hyenas and jackals are not closely related, for starters. Hyenas are part of the hyena family (Hyaenidae), which is closer to cats (Felidae) on the Carnivora tree than to dogs. Jackals are part of the dog family (Canidae).