How do you substitute butter in a recipe?

Applesauce: You can replace butter in baking recipes with unsweetened applesauce by using half of the amount of applesauce as the amount of butter called for in the recipe. ... Vegetable Oil: You can substitute 3 quarter cups of vegetable oil for every 1 cup of butter called for.