How can you tell if a bearded dragons are male or female?

Use a flash-light (phone flash-lights work great) and shine through the base of the tail above the vent on the tail's topside and look at the underside. If it's a male the two mentioned hemipenal bulges should be easily visible. If female you will not see the two bulges, just the single centre bulge