What does patronus mean in harry potter?

As Professor Lupin told Harry in Prisoner of Azkaban, the Patronus is 'a kind of Anti-Dementor – a guardian which acts as a shield between you and the Dementor. ... Each Patronus is unique to the witch or wizard who conjures it, and it's possible, in some cases, for a Patronus to change.