What's the difference between a cyclone and a typhoon?

The only difference between a hurricane, a cyclone, and a typhoon is the location where the storm occurs. In the Atlantic and Northeast Pacific the term hurricane is used. The same type of disturbance in the Northwest Pacific is called a typhoon. Cyclones occur in the South Pacific and Indian Ocean.