What does feather mean?

Feathers are epidermal growths that form a distinctive outer covering, or plumage, on dinosaurs, both avian and some non-avian and possibly other archosauromorphs. They are considered the most complex integumentary structures found in vertebrates and a premier example of a complex novelty.