How long do you have to go to school to be a lawyer?

8 years

---

Becoming a lawyer usually takes 7 years of full-time study after high school—4 years of undergraduate study, followed by 3 years of law school. Most states and jurisdictions require lawyers to complete a Juris Doctor degree from a law school accredited by the American Bar Association.