Why did aaron yeager become evil?

With the final chapter of the series bidding Eren a final goodbye, he was able to have a conversation with Armin in which he was able to explain why he became such a villain in the first place. It's because he wanted to make the Survey Corps seem like heroes to the rest of humanity.