What does water smell like?

Water itself is odorless. However, there are many reasons why water may have an odor - water treatment plants add small amounts of chlorine, which has an odor; sulfur from well-sourced water smells like rotten eggs; and water that smells like sewage may indicate build up of bacteria in plumbing