Do earthworms sleep?

Within the soil the earthworms form a mucus-lined chamber, in which they curl into a tight ball in order to prevent moisture loss. They remain in these chambers until more favourable soil conditions prevail. If earthworms do 'sleep', it must be during such times when all other behaviours cease.