What is the hottest pepper in america?

The Carolina Reaper is the hottest pepper in America. The Carolina Reaper is a cultivar of the Capsicum chinense plant. Developed by American breeder Ed Currie, the pepper is red and gnarled, with a bumpy texture and small pointed tail.