What is fusili pasta?

Fusilli (foo-SILL-ee) is a type of Italian pasta shaped like curly spirals or little springs. ... The word fusilli comes from "fuso" meaning spindle—a spindle rod is traditionally used to spin the strips of pasta into a spiral shape.