What is fusili pasta?

Fusilli (foo-SILL-ee) is a type of Italian pasta shaped like curly spirals or little springs. ... The word fusilli comes from "fuso" meaning spindle—a spindle rod is traditionally used to spin the strips of pasta into a spiral shape.

---

Fusilli is a pasta in the form of a spiral, like a helix or corkscrew. There are several varieties, including a short form with a solid core that is sold in the United States as rotini.