Do plums ripen off the vine?

When picking plums, look for a few key signs that they’re fully ripe. The skin color may be darker & have a powdery appearance. Ripe plums also are softer to the touch, especially toward the end. They easily pull off the tree with a slight tug & have an aromatic scent that indicates they are ripe.