What happened to the mongol empire?

The Mongol Empire began to split after the death of Genghis Khan (in 1227) due to wars over succession, as his grandchildren disputed whether the royal line should follow from his son and initial heir Ögedei or from one of his other sons, such as Tolui, Chagatai, or Jochi.