When was the first railroad?

This cannot be answered in 300 characters, but: A basic railway, the rutway, existed in ancient Greek and Roman times, the most important being the ship trackway Diolkos across the Isthmus of Corinth. Measuring between 6 and 8.5 km, it remained in regular and frequent service for at least 650 years.