Why do cats like yarn so much?

The reason for a cat's strong affinity for yarn seems to be rooted in its natural hunting instincts. The movement that yarn has when rolling, dangling, or unwinding reminds cats of snakes, which would be one of their top competitors for prey in the wild. This is why cats attack yarn defensively.