How can you tell how old a box turtle is?

Unless you know when a turtle is born, it's nearly impossible to tell its age. While you can count rings on the turtle's belly, that method is often a better representation of when the turtle last had food. If your turtle's young you can compare it to the size of other turtles to get an idea of age.