How do you train a chicken in minecraft?

First you'll need some wheat seeds which you get by harvesting grass. Next equip the seeds in your hotbar and then approach a chicken. Lure the chicken into a closed space. Once the chicken is inside the enclosure close with a door or gate so that you can get through and you now have a pet chicken!