What are the parts of a horse's leg?

Horse limbs contain the suspensory apparatus, which carries much of the weight, prevents overextension of the joint and absorbs shock; and the stay apparatus, which locks major joints in the limbs, allowing horses to remain standing while relaxed or asleep. Try "cannonbones" for your crossword.