Why is there wheat in soy sauce?

The three main ingredients to brew and ferment mash that becomes soy sauce are; soy beans, wheat, salt brine. Aspergillus mold on the soy and wheat break down the grain proteins into simple sugars. The chemical reactions and fermentations processes become dark brown soy sauce full of flavor.