What does lightning rod do in minecraft?

A Minecraft lightning rod will emit a redstone signal when hit by lightning. This can also be triggered by a trident enchanted with Channeling during a thunderstorm. So if you're into making automated mechanisms in your blocky world, the Minecraft lightning rod is a handy tool.