Why do cats rub their faces on everything?

They're Leaving Scent Marks - like saying this is MINE or I like this! Cats have multiple scent glands on their heads, located around their mouths, chins, sides of the face, neck and ears. The act of a cat rubbing his head on objects is called “bunting.