How much teeth do dogs have?

The average adult dog has about a third more teeth than his human counterpart. Adult dogs have 42 permanent teeth compared to a measly 32 average human teeth (not counting any wisdom teeth. Those are "bonus."). Puppies possess 28 baby teeth while human babies will have 20 deciduous or “baby” teeth.