Why did the american revolution happen?

The American Revolution was principally caused by colonial opposition to British attempts, to impose greater control over the colonies, and to make them repay the crown for its defense of them during the French and Indian War (1754–1763).

---

The American revolution resulted from high taxation from the British monarchy and strict control over the colonist living great distance from accountability. Coined terms in history-"taxation without representation". Paul Revere tales along with Boston tea part.