Are calico cats mean?

Owners of female cats with “sex-linked” color patterns — meaning tortoiseshell, “torbie” and calico cats — reported a higher frequency of aggression than owners of female cats of other colors. “Sex-linked” means that these specific color patterns are linked to genes on the X chromosome.

---

A Calico is not a specific breed, so temperaments are as varied as the breeds in which they are found. But Cat Breeds Encyclopedia attributes a few characteristics to calico cats: sweet & endearing, warm-hearted, affectionate & good with children. Some even credited with intelligent acts of bravery.