What is the origin of the word margarita?

In Latin it came from the Greek word margaritari, meaning pearl, which was borrowed from the Persians. The flower daisy is called margarita in Spanish, Greek & other languages. Margarita is a variant of the likewise Persian-origin given name Margaret. The traditional short form of this name is Rita.