Do fleas like cold weather?

Fleas do not like cold weather. Fleas prefer a temperature of around 75 degrees and are most active at this temperature. As temperatures drop and hover near 50 degrees, fleas can cocoon and stay that way for months. If the temperature drops to freezing, the fleas & their eggs will die.

---

As winter arrives, many fleas and their eggs will die. Fleas prefer a temperature of around 75 degrees and are most active at this temperature. As temperatures drop near 50 degrees, fleas can cocoon and stay that way for months. No flea in any stage of development can survive freezing temperatures.