How old are the elderly?

Medically speaking,“Older” is preferred over "elderly," but both are equally imprecise; greater than 65 is the age often considered elderly, but the relative health of the individual must also be considered.

---

The World Health Organization says that most developed world countries have accepted the chronological age of 65 years as a definition of 'elderly' or older person.