How old are the elderly?

Medically speaking, an individual is called an elderly if he has reached 65 years of age. At this age, the medical treatment of the elderly, also known as geriatrics, can begin.

---

Medically speaking,“Older” is preferred over "elderly," but both are equally imprecise; greater than 65 is the age often considered elderly, but the relative health of the individual must also be considered.

---

The World Health Organization says that most developed world countries have accepted the chronological age of 65 years as a definition of 'elderly' or older person.