Who is the first person to make bacon?

Salted pork belly first appeared on dining tables thousands of years ago in China. The word bacon derives from various Germanic and French dialects, including the Old French bacun, Old High German bacho (meaning buttock) and Old Teutonic backe, which refers to the back.