Why is it called chess pie?

Several origins have been offered for the name of Chess Pie. It could come from 'Cheese Pie' due to the custard like filling. It could be named after the town of Chester,England. It could be a reference to a pie chest. Or it could be a form of saying "It's Just Pie."