Why is austria called austria?

The German name for Austria, Österreich, derives from the Old High German Ostarrîchi, which meant "eastern realm" and which first appeared in the "Ostarrîchi document" of 996. TThe word "Austria" is a Latinisation of the German name and was first recorded in the 12th century.