How long will the earth live?

Around 1.1 billion years from now, the sun will increase in intensity by approximately 10%. This will cause the earth to have a runaway greenhouse affect much like Venus. The earth will likely be swallowed by the sun expanding into a red giant approximately 5.5 billion years from now

---

Our sun will die in another 10 billion years, but the earth will be destroyed in about one billion years. As the sun begins to die, it will expand its diameter beyond the radius of the Earth's orbit, and the Earth will be burnt and swallowed.