What is curious george?

Curious George is a fictional monkey in a series of popular children's books and other media. He first appeared in 1939's Cecily G. and the Nine Monkeys before becoming a stand-alone character in 1941. In most of his books George lives with the Man with the Yellow Hat and has adventures in the city.