What is the difference between an ocean and the sea?

People often use the word "ocean" to describe the largest bodies of water, like the Pacific and Atlantic Oceans, and use the word "sea" to describe smaller bodies of seawater, like the Mediterranean or Adriatic Sea.

---

An ocean is a vast and a continuous frame of salty water that shelters almost 70 percent of the total earth's surface while a sea is a large body of saline water that occupies a greater part of the world's surface but is smaller than an ocean.