Can snow leopards roar?

Snow leopards make sounds similar to those made by other large cats: purr, mew, hiss, growl, moan, and yowl. However, snow leopards can not roar due to the physiology of their throat, and instead make a non-aggressive puffing sound called a 'chuff'.