How close can a human get to the sun?

McNutt says astronauts could fly to within 1.3 million miles of the sun (roughly the two-yard line).But the integrity of the shield degrades rapidly above 4,700°, the cockpit would begin to cook and the constant exposure to cosmic radiation would be fatal before crossing the 50-yard line.