What do you get when you cross a horse and a mule?

You cannot cross a horse and a mule because mules are sterile. You get a mule when you cross a horse with a donkey.

---

asinus♀ Synonyms. Equus mulus. A hinny is a domestic equine hybrid that is the offspring of a male horse (a stallion) and a female donkey (a jenny). It is the reciprocal cross to the more common mule, which is the product of a male donkey, a jack, and a female horse, a mare.