What's the difference between tap cold and cold?

Today's smart washers have a specific temperature range for "Cold," meaning that if your water comes out of the tap colder than the set temperature, the machine will add a bit of hot water to adjust it within range. Choosing "Tap Cold" overrides that feature, so no hot water is added.