Do possums eat chickens?

While opossums do occasionally eat small chickens, most chickens are too big and intimidating for most opossums. Opossums are omnivores and survive by eating a variety of foods. The primary sources of sustenance are small rodents, insects, worms, slugs and snails, frogs and small birds.

---

Possums will eat eggs and chicks, but can also kill adult chickens (especially smaller breeds). In the case of adult chickens they will only eat parts of the body and leave the rest behind as it is too cumbersome for them to effectively carry off and hide.