What is the definition of racketeering?

Racketeering was a charge first brought against organized crime. The charge was meant to encompass most of the illegal activities engaged in by organized crime. Racketeering was different in that it could be brought against multipe defendants rather than a single individual.

---

Racketeering is a type of organized crime. It is the act of acquiring a business through illegal activity, operating a business with illegally-derived income, or using a business to commit illegal acts.