What is hair popping?

People try to yank their hair quickly to make a “popping” sound from their scalp. But “pop” you hear is the galea aponeurotica, a tough sheet of soft tissue connected to your scalp, popping off your skull. Doctors say it's dangerous and you should not try this at home.