Is h. i. e. a word?

Yes, it’s an archaic verb meaning to go quickly.

---

HIE is an acronym for Hypoxic Ischemic Encephalopathy, a type of brain dysfunction that occurs when the brain doesn't receive enough oxygen or blood flow for a period of time.