What is a butterfly ranch?

Many species of butterfly can be raised on a butterfly farm. An average butterfly farm is about 2,500 square yards (2,000 square meters). The area should be filled with many plants known to be favored by butterflies as food and for depositing their eggs on, and should be bordered by a thick hedge.