What is the average age that babies start talking?

The first part of speech forms around 4 to 6 months. At 7 to 12 months baby’s use vocal constants an attempt to recreate sounds from their environment. From 12 to 18 months a child starts to speak and develops a small vocabulary around eight to 12 word.