Why is electricity called electricity?

The word, "electric", is derived from the Greek word for amber, "elektron", with a K instead of a C. The ancients noticed that when you rub amber, it gets an electrostatic charge, and will pick up light things like feathers and straw. The word, electricity, is ascribed to Sir Thomas Browne in 1646.