What's the difference between chow mein and chop suey?

In chow mein, the recipe itself includes adding cooked noodles to the cooking sauces, vegetables, and meat (optional). However, in chop suey, the mixture of cooked vegetables and meat (optional) along with the sauces is served over already cooked rice or fried noodles.