What's the difference between chow mein and chop suey?

The real difference between a Chow Mein and a Chop Suey dish is the authenticity and the origin of the dish. A chow mein is considered a real, traditional Chinese dish, whereas the chop suey is an American version of chinese cuisine.

---

In chow mein, the recipe itself includes adding cooked noodles to the cooking sauces, vegetables, and meat (optional). However, in chop suey, the mixture of cooked vegetables and meat (optional) along with the sauces is served over already cooked rice or fried noodles.