How popular is the name ashley?

In the United States the name Ashley for females ranked 136 as of 2019. In the year 2000 it was the fourth most popular name. The name Ashley does not rank in the top one thousand in the United States for males. Although in the late 1970's through the end of 1980's the name was popular for males.