Why did the colosseum collapse?

After the fall of the Western Roman Empire, the Colosseum began to deteriorate. A series of earthquakes during the fifth century C.E. damaged the structure, and it also suffered from neglect. By the 20th century, nearly two-thirds of the original building had been destroyed.